Astro Galaxy - a realistic space exploration game
  September 20, 2017, 03:35:01 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Members Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Send this topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Prospector missions pointing to nonexistant star systems  (Read 1371 times)
Cl1ck
Private
*

Reputation: +12/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


View Profile
« on: December 28, 2015, 03:24:31 AM »

Prospector mission with ID 744957. Mission is in Q -1,-2. I have checked the systems in this quadrant twice, but can't find the deposit! There are only 5 stars there, so I can't miss the planet. The ship with the mission is in the Q -4,-2 now, but when I click "Talk" I get this responce:
Quote
We are in Quadrant -1,-2 now... We should investigate the stars here and look for a planet or moon with the Ice environment.

Please let me know when we are in orbit of a planet or moon, and we will check out the surface.

Report to moderator   Logged

IGN: Cylon
lisunken
Sergeant
*

Reputation: +15/-4
Offline Offline

Posts: 206


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2015, 11:22:35 PM »

The system may go nova like the com.
Report to moderator   Logged
Cl1ck
Private
*

Reputation: +12/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2015, 11:35:19 PM »

Yes, but COM missions at least give you some clue that target star has disappeared. With prospector mission there is no such clue. You can circle the target quadrant endlesly, trying to find something, thats not there!
Report to moderator   Logged

IGN: Cylon
StarGazer
Unidentified Commander
*

Reputation: +6/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2016, 07:34:59 AM »

Can we please have a change that new missions give the miner a realistic time from pick up to blow up...

Basically new missions should lead to newborn systems, or systems with at least some minimum level of stability.. (-100? or better!)
Report to moderator   Logged
Antilak
Corporal
*

Reputation: +17/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 138



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2016, 02:27:19 AM »

Prospector mission with ID 744957. Mission is in Q -1,-2. I have checked the systems in this quadrant twice, but can't find the deposit! There are only 5 stars there, so I can't miss the planet. The ship with the mission is in the Q -4,-2 now, but when I click "Talk" I get this responce:
Quote
We are in Quadrant -1,-2 now... We should investigate the stars here and look for a planet or moon with the Ice environment.

Please let me know when we are in orbit of a planet or moon, and we will check out the surface.



I have this same problem. I checked a system twice, spending AP. I think it's invalid.

What's going on?
Report to moderator   Logged

"Lots of things happen after you die - they just don't involve you." - Louis C.K.
Antilak
Corporal
*

Reputation: +17/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 138



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2016, 02:30:01 AM »

Can we please have a change that new missions give the miner a realistic time from pick up to blow up...

Basically new missions should lead to newborn systems, or systems with at least some minimum level of stability.. (-100? or better!)
Is not a bad suggestion. Supernovas still keep a limit on how long we can keep prospector missions without doing them. I've been keeping large stockpiles of them because I just can't go to them them all. I try to do ones which're close together.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2016, 02:32:45 AM by Antilak » Report to moderator   Logged

"Lots of things happen after you die - they just don't involve you." - Louis C.K.
NoBrain
Lance Corporal
*

Reputation: +60/-4
Offline Offline

Posts: 96


NoBrain Mining Inc


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2016, 04:10:09 AM »

I have the same problem.. I collect and take one Quadrant at a time. I found one deposit ($$ 35M) with 2 days left for nova.. and have 1 pointing to a system gone nova..

My suggestion is to make the SOS mining missions dynamic, if a star become unstable, the SOS mining mission should point to a new born system in the same Quadrant..
This way a SOS mining mission newer become "old"...
Report to moderator   Logged

sargas
Master Sergeant
*

Reputation: +176/-38
Offline Offline

Posts: 1433


wandering teacher of the bizarre and unusual


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2016, 09:24:25 AM »

the Empire has infusers and are willing to 'rent them out' for a nominal fee. (say a percentage of the deposit) PM sargas for more details.
Report to moderator   Logged
sargas
Master Sergeant
*

Reputation: +176/-38
Offline Offline

Posts: 1433


wandering teacher of the bizarre and unusual


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2016, 11:20:35 AM »

If you really think about it, you do not know about novae until they happen.
The explorers who found the 'treasure' have no idea that the system has gone all 'ka-blooey' 1, but only that there is a 'treasure' on a planet in that particular sector.
You still have to locate the 'treasure' planet whether it still exists or not.

...The Empire does the same thing...


1 - (after all, it's physics - how long does it take to see something on a galactic level? the game is still restricted to 'speed-of-light' except for the WHG's)



(edit because I like footnotes )
« Last Edit: January 08, 2016, 11:30:10 AM by sargas » Report to moderator   Logged
JimGalaxy
Private First Class
*

Reputation: +45/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 41



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2016, 07:24:43 PM »

Bump.

This is badly broken. I've searched in 2,0 tonight for a Hot Gas Giant mission. There are currently eight systems in 2,0. Together, the systems have a total of only three Hot Gas Giants. The mission is found at none of them.

What's sad is that, after the programming effort that was spent into re-categorizing the plants into Hot, Cold, Neutral, etc. ... this Supernova change came along and has effectively destroyed all old Prospector missions. They're not just useless now - they're a waste of valuable time and resources, spent in hunting what is no longer there.

Please fix this, SirEmi -
Report to moderator   Logged
Xioxx
Unidentified Commander
*

Reputation: +8/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2016, 11:39:04 PM »

Do these missions ever get completed? I wish they worked or didn't exist.
Report to moderator   Logged

Xioxx EOS
lisunken
Sergeant
*

Reputation: +15/-4
Offline Offline

Posts: 206


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2016, 11:46:57 PM »

yes they do. I has finished three but the nova keep you on your toe.  laugh
Report to moderator   Logged
sargas
Master Sergeant
*

Reputation: +176/-38
Offline Offline

Posts: 1433


wandering teacher of the bizarre and unusual


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2016, 09:48:11 AM »

My heavy miners are packing infusers and the Empire can re-stabilize a system in a couple of days.





(Edit -for a small fee, we can protect your mines as well)
« Last Edit: May 05, 2016, 03:46:30 PM by sargas » Report to moderator   Logged
Antilak
Corporal
*

Reputation: +17/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 138



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: May 14, 2016, 03:09:48 PM »

Suggestions should be in suggestion forum. This isn't really a bug.

BUT I mine a lot and here're my suggestions:
1) When we talk to the prospectors they should tell us how old the star was when they got the information--using this information we can guess-estimate how long we have before it nova's
2) If the star supernova's then remove the prospector mission from cargo and leave a message they disembarked

Something like that.
Report to moderator   Logged

"Lots of things happen after you die - they just don't involve you." - Louis C.K.
Antilak
Corporal
*

Reputation: +17/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 138



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2016, 01:59:33 AM »

About 4 days ago I got a 55 million deposit. Guess what? I went to the system and it's not there. It nova'd.

Sucks. I know it's not common in such a short span of time, but when it happens it hurts.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2016, 02:01:50 AM by Antilak » Report to moderator   Logged

"Lots of things happen after you die - they just don't involve you." - Louis C.K.
Pages: [1]
  Send this topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!