Astro Galaxy - a realistic space exploration game
  November 23, 2020, 02:08:09 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Members Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Send this topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Help me make a mammoth suggestion list  (Read 2712 times)
Antilak
Corporal
*

Reputation: +18/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 145



View Profile
« on: June 10, 2017, 11:04:12 PM »

I don't want to post this in suggestion yet. Didn't feel right. This forum allows us to modify old posts so I'll just keep it here and evolve it over the months and/or years I'm here. If a mod believes it belongs in suggestions, go ahead and put it there.

I will read any replies and add or change here if I agree.

1
In -Ships-, add these saved check boxes to the top-: [ x ] Licensing date, [  ] Name, [  ] Hull Size, [  ] Power, [  ] Location
These will order the list shown so it's ordered by that category.

2
Increase the size of ship names from 15 characters to 20 or 25
-or-
Consider adding a hidden name shown only to the owner of the ship or the corporation members?

For special cases when player is desiring to better organize their ships.
Several times I've found myself wishing ship names were longer.

3
When transferring personnel, it shows the amount/maximum on each ship, not just number of modules
(It shows the amount/maximum for marines, I think)

4
Add "[ # ] [ Set % ]" to "[ 0% ][ 50% ][ 100% ]" when managing personnel or marines.
Change "With selected: SET [ 0% ] [ 50% ] [ 100% ] [ Move to cargo boy ]"
to
"With selected: SET [ 0% ] [ 50% ] [ 100% ] [ # ] [ Set % ] [ Move to cargo boy ]"

This is to allow other percentages. The "[ # ]" is just an edit control for entering a percentage: 0-100.

5
Instead of W|S|A|M color bars with percentage active for each ship in "View Battlefield", show the actual ratings. If the ship hasn't been scanned yet, just show a (?), otherwise show what's below:
(image) (mouseover gives the ship name)
W 327k (power of combined weapons (or combined MK?); doesn't include marines)
S 60k (actual shield protection w/ optimization)
A 15k (actual armour protection w/ optimization)
M 1.2k (marines in marine modules)
P 5k (personnel in quarters)

Also add the optimization of the ship to the list regardless of scan status.

Why? Because I never look at the color bars. Mucho useless clutter as-is.

6
Previously scanning NPC ships (in combat mission) permanently shows their weapons/shields/armor/manpower ratings in "View Battlefield", regardless of login status, unless hte mission is cancelled

Alternatively, show the last scan results indefinitely--as well in "View Battlefield". Perhaps keep a maximum of 25 scan results per player.

Additionally, allow hte player to scan the whole enemy fleet for the COM. If six ships are present hten it'll take 6 hours. If 4 then 4 hours. Normal scans are 1 AP for 1 hour per ship.

7
-Planets- can be ordered by category and shows modules by type (S=science, M=marines, M=miner, H=harvester,etc)

8
Completing SoS mission reloads the cargo page automatically.
(Currently, completing prospector missions will reload the cargo page automatically.)
(Currently, completing SoS missions loads the System view.)

9
In -Cargo-, ability to filter cargo by a search term, by adding "[Filter by...] [ search term ]" below "Ship manifest:"
So I might type "Laser" into the search term and click [Filter by...} to filter the cargo.

10
In -Cargo-, convert the "Ship manifest:" categories (shown below) from buttons to saved check boxes:
[ x ] All cargo [  ] Products [  ] Minerals [  ] Gases [  ] Passengers [  ] Station [  ] Modules
("All cargo" will override all other check boxes)

11
In -Cargo-, add "(Mark Upgrade)" to cargo items upgradeable by the player, like so:
"[ ] 100 m3 | Electromagnetic shield, Mk CLXXX (Install) (Mark Upgrade)"

Add this...
"With selected: [ Mark Upgrade ]"

Below...
"With selected, amount: [    ]m3 [ Convert to fuel ] [ Transfer to another owned ship ] [ Eject ]

12
In Manufacture->Mark Upgrade, change what's below teh buttons, like so:
"Select module to upgrade from ship cargo bay: |Electromagnetic shield CLXXX [ v ]|"
"-OR-
Select module(s) to upgrade from [ Cargo ]
"

Below that, change what's shown to this, if the player clicks on "[ Mark Upgrade ]" in the cargo bay, after selecting items for mark upgrade:
(if one items is selected, don't change anything)
(if multiple items are selected, change it to the following...)
"Input modules / techs:
Electromagnetic shield Mk CLXXX
Electromagnetic shield Mk CLXXX
Electromagnetic shield Mk CLXXV
Electromagnetic shield Mk CLX
Electromagnetic shield Mk CLXXX"


"Reverse Engineering tech level 200
|  Action  |       Output Module        | Max pers | Utility | Time | Resources needed |"

Handle processing the same, except account for multiple selections. So if any item in the selection list has a higher mark than the output module entered by teh player, give the same cancel notification, below:
"This module already achieved t hat mark level!"

Otherwise, upgrade all the items at once, ensuring there're enough materials in the cargo bay.

13
Highlight any planets or stars linked to an accepted COM mission, or any mission with a KNOWN star/planet destination, in light blue. Stars shouldn't be highlighted if they're not previously mapped by sensors. Ideally planets or stars should be highlighted for ANY of your player owned ships that have a COM mission located there. however, when implenenting this the first time, it MIGHT make more sense to only highlight COM missions for the active ship and any player owned ships in its hangar--or in its orbit if that makes more sense. ( At present I have to go to my cargo and find the entry so i can identify which star and planet is the mission destination. )

14
In the Attacks screen, which shows all your active COMs (and/or other possible attack missions), highlight the mission your active ship is engaged in, if any. If it's possible for a single ship to be in multiple missions hten highlight multiple entries. I oftne find myself losing track of which mission it's. ( At present, either I click on each one to figure it out, or I go to cargo and talk to the crew responsible for hte missioon. )
« Last Edit: March 12, 2020, 10:06:27 PM by Antilak » Report to moderator   Logged

"Lots of things happen after you die - they just don't involve you." - Louis C.K.
Antilak
Corporal
*

Reputation: +18/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 145



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2017, 04:35:24 PM »

Just going to rant a bit about armor. I don't have any formulaic answers to armor yet, but it's not working for me. I hate how what you see in the combat report doesn't necessarily reflect the results. I hate how 1/3 damage to my armor means it's 100% damaged. I hate how if it's damaged it can't be removed from the module unless you repair it first. I hate how you have to haul the repair minerals along with you and put them on a separate ship because otherwise a loss in combat might cause them to be lost.

And there're other things I'm hating too. Like not being able to determine when my weapons will fire during combat. Why don't we have more control over combat order? Overall my impression of the combat system is not good.

I'm not just another person wanting the game to be "easy". I never like games to be easy. Cheating and hand holding and always winning are boring. What I'm complaining about is how empty the combat is. To elaborate, this is what I do mostly:
1) Scan all the ships using AP
2) Calculate their shield/armor total
3) Calculate their offensive damage total
4) Look at the first order ship to see if maybe I should use a couple lasers or railguns (does it have dodge optimization?)
5) From that, set my shields and marine modules and weapons and look at the timer

I usually do it regardless of saved time because sometimes a mission is hard for my ship.

The issue is it's too simplistic, too mundane, too repetitive, too bleh. Is that the best Sir Emi can do?

Honestly my feeling is the total shield/armor should be automaticly shown at the bottom in the Battlefield view--after the ships are scanned. The total MK of all weapons and marine modules could also be shown at the bottom. The bottom line is, these calculation shouldn't be considered gameplay, so it should be less cumbersome? Gameplay should be tactical, not technical. For example, during a game of Jagged Alliance 2, I'm not calculating the armor/hp/damage of each enemy I encounter. I'm setting up my squad to have cover and be within range and not be vulnerable to flanking or being overrun. I'm making sure they all have first aid and a doctor nearby. I'm going after the nearest or most vulnerable enemy that doesn't expose my squad. I'm dividing and conquering if possible. I'm looking ahead to see how I should advance forward so that all of these condtions I listed above are met. Nowhere am I using a calculator, or feel I met benefit from it.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2020, 10:38:43 PM by Antilak » Report to moderator   Logged

"Lots of things happen after you die - they just don't involve you." - Louis C.K.
Antilak
Corporal
*

Reputation: +18/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 145



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2017, 05:26:34 PM »

Added (11) and (12) for multiple-selection upgrading.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2017, 05:29:52 PM by Antilak » Report to moderator   Logged

"Lots of things happen after you die - they just don't involve you." - Louis C.K.
Antilak
Corporal
*

Reputation: +18/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 145



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2020, 03:54:00 AM »

I decided to come back yesterday nd look around.

Something more I can add:
1) When trying to transfer marines from power armor marine assault units the game doesn't inform me i need to transfer to another power armor marine assault unit. Insted it just says 0 MAU's on the ship, even though it definitely has a MAU. It seems to require another power armor unit, but didn't tell me.

And I can't believe the game still hasn't given us a way to purchase minerals/gases for manufacturing in one go. For example, if I need 50 MK for Standard Cargo Bay, I can purchase either directly from manufacturing or from a redesigned store interface. right now, the store just allows us to purchase individual minerals/gases. A redesigned exchange would allow us to purchase for a module, like Advanced Cargo Bay. Since the interface might look somewhat like Manufacturing, why not just do it there?

Minerals/gases are pretty much only used for manfuacturing (except diamonds for fuel conversion), so why wasn't this done in the first place.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2020, 04:25:52 PM by Antilak » Report to moderator   Logged

"Lots of things happen after you die - they just don't involve you." - Louis C.K.
Ordago
Private
*

Reputation: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2020, 04:24:40 AM »

Sir Emi seems to have abandoned the game a long time ago... no more updates or support whatsoever

It feels to me the game could go offline anytime.... after so many hours of fun.... sigh
Report to moderator   Logged

Vini, vidi, vinci

NoBrain
Sergeant
*

Reputation: +111/-7
Offline Offline

Posts: 238


NoBrain Mining Inc


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2020, 10:22:22 AM »

Sir Emi seems to have abandoned the game a long time ago... no more updates or support whatsoever

It feels to me the game could go offline anytime.... after so many hours of fun.... sigh
So Sir Emi have not contacted you??
[SEC] Rostin (#3641) has been offline for 806h 38m 24s

I'll try to get him to transfer the leader role to you Ordago (#4338)
Report to moderator   Logged

Ordago
Private
*

Reputation: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2020, 10:52:11 AM »

Sir Emi seems to have abandoned the game a long time ago... no more updates or support whatsoever

It feels to me the game could go offline anytime.... after so many hours of fun.... sigh
So Sir Emi have not contacted you??
[SEC] Rostin (#3641) has been offline for 806h 38m 24s

I'll try to get him to transfer the leader role to you Ordago (#4338)

please, if you could that would be greatly appreciated... our leader is over 2k hours offline too. I am a bit concerned about Nojehu. Hope he is ok, its not like him to go AWOL like that.
Report to moderator   Logged

Vini, vidi, vinci

NoBrain
Sergeant
*

Reputation: +111/-7
Offline Offline

Posts: 238


NoBrain Mining Inc


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2020, 11:45:12 AM »

Sir Emi seems to have abandoned the game a long time ago... no more updates or support whatsoever

It feels to me the game could go offline anytime.... after so many hours of fun.... sigh
So Sir Emi have not contacted you??
[SEC] Rostin (#3641) has been offline for 806h 38m 24s

I'll try to get him to transfer the leader role to you Ordago (#4338)

please, if you could that would be greatly appreciated... our leader is over 2k hours offline too. I am a bit concerned about Nojehu. Hope he is ok, its not like him to go AWOL like that.

So [SEC] nojehu (#8571) is leader of SEC..
Report to moderator   Logged

Ordago
Private
*

Reputation: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2020, 02:45:43 PM »

Sir Emi seems to have abandoned the game a long time ago... no more updates or support whatsoever

It feels to me the game could go offline anytime.... after so many hours of fun.... sigh
So Sir Emi have not contacted you??
[SEC] Rostin (#3641) has been offline for 806h 38m 24s

I'll try to get him to transfer the leader role to you Ordago (#4338)

please, if you could that would be greatly appreciated... our leader is over 2k hours offline too. I am a bit concerned about Nojehu. Hope he is ok, its not like him to go AWOL like that.

So [SEC] nojehu (#8571) is leader of SEC..

affirmative  laugh
Report to moderator   Logged

Vini, vidi, vinci

Antilak
Corporal
*

Reputation: +18/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 145



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2020, 10:15:24 PM »

Few more ideas. I'll get around to adding them to the main list when I'm confident. I'll check over the main list sometime to see if I still agree with it. Because it has been a long time and sometimes ideas seem good at the time but later you're sober up and see their failings.

1) when you complete a mission, you should automatically talk to the ship crew responsible for the mission, so you can complete it immediatley and get the reward. ( At present, you're required first go to your inventory and talk to the crew to get the reward. )

2) highlight any planets or stars linked to an accepted COM mission (or maybe any mission with a  star/planet destination) in light blue. stars shouldn't be highlighted if they're not previously mapped by sensors. ideally planets or stars should be highlighted for ANY of your player owned ships that have a COM mission located there. however, it might make more sense to only highlight COM missions for the active ship and any player owned ships in its hangar--or in its orbit if that makes more sense. ( At present I have to go to my cargo and find the entry so i can identify which star and planet is the mission destination. )

3) allow us to scan the whole fleet in a COM mission. So if the fleet is 6 ships then it'll require 6 hours to finish. Normal scans are 1 AP per ship. Because of entry (6), this scan result should persist for the remainder of hte COM missions--the player does not have to scan again if htey log off or go to a different screen.

I chnaged entry (6) to include scanning the whole fleet.

EDIT: Just changed entry (1) in my OP so ships can be ordered by location. Another idear for ordering ships is to place htem into fleets. This way when ships aren't hangared they'll still be nearby in the list.

4) Yet another idea is to show your ships with a special icon for the planets in system view. This wya when you visit a star and see the planets, you'll also see where your ships are without having to remember or looking at another screen. Teh whole point in this is to reduce the rampant clicking in AG.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2020, 10:52:25 PM by Antilak » Report to moderator   Logged

"Lots of things happen after you die - they just don't involve you." - Louis C.K.
Antilak
Corporal
*

Reputation: +18/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 145



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2020, 10:07:46 PM »

Have another minor one I just thought up:

1) In the Attacks screen, which shows all your active COMs (and/or other possible attack missions), highlight the mission your active ship is engaged in, if any. If it's possible for a single ship to be in multiple missions hten highlight multiple entries. I oftne find myself losing track of which mission it's. ( At present, either I click on each one to figure it out, or I go to cargo and talk to the crew responsible for hte missioon. )

How it's highlighted doesn't matter, as long as the missions the active ship is engaged in stand out.

It might also be useful if the "Attacker" category shows a ship name. I assume this would be one of my ships, since I think I'm always hte attacker in COMs. Presently, it just shows the number of units and an "(owned)" flag. The intent is to increase feedback, so player is more informed wherever they're.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2020, 10:12:49 PM by Antilak » Report to moderator   Logged

"Lots of things happen after you die - they just don't involve you." - Louis C.K.
Antilak
Corporal
*

Reputation: +18/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 145



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2020, 10:04:34 PM »

I added star/planet highlights to the OP for COM missions (or other missions with known star/planet destination). Feel confident that's helpful change, even if it's only available for hte active ship (a mission in its cargo for example). I also added the Attack missions highlight for active ships. Again, these things keep coming up during play, and hard to live without them.

Another thing came to mind just now. Are entries in cargo alphabetically and numerically sorted??? If not, why, I wonder.

This isn't sorted:
Marine Assault Unit Mk D
Electromagnetic Shield Mk CVII
Electromagnetic Shield Mk CXLI
Electromagnet Shield Mk L

This is:
Electromagnet Shield Mk L
Electromagnetic Shield Mk CVII
Electromagnetic Shield Mk CXLI
Marine Assault Unit Mk D

Notice that it's sorting the roman numerals by their numerical value.

Just little thigns like this can help in cargo management.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2020, 10:16:33 PM by Antilak » Report to moderator   Logged

"Lots of things happen after you die - they just don't involve you." - Louis C.K.
SteveCrab
Private
*

Reputation: +0/-19
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


Taking the A out of AI


View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: March 26, 2020, 11:41:17 AM »

Most of these suggestions can be incorporated in ORION (AG v2)

Please contact me if you want to help code them (and get significant personal benefits in V2).
Report to moderator   Logged

AG Mining Deposit list - http://orion.cbhp.com.au/deposit.php - access open to all

Dr Noonian Soong is currently considering all membership applications.
Scripting assistance and code provided.
cathpeti97
Unidentified Commander
*

Reputation: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: November 08, 2020, 02:32:35 AM »

I decided to come back yesterday nd look around.

Something more I can add:
1) When trying to transfer marines from power armor marine assault units the game doesn't inform me i need to transfer to another power armor marine assault unit. Insted it just says 0 MAU's on the ship, even though it definitely has a MAU. It seems to require another power armor unit, but didn't tell me.

And I can't believe the game still hasn't given us a way to purchase minerals/gases for manufacturing in one go. For example, if I need 50 MK for Standard Cargo Bay, I can purchase either directly from manufacturing or from a redesigned store interface assurance décès. right now, the store just allows us to purchase individual minerals/gases. A redesigned exchange would allow us to purchase for a module, like Advanced Cargo Bay. Since the interface might look somewhat like Manufacturing, why not just do it there?

Minerals/gases are pretty much only used for manfuacturing (except diamonds for fuel conversion), so why wasn't this done in the first place.
Maybe in the next update it will be possible. In any case, our fingers are crossed.
Report to moderator   Logged
Gildavinor
Corporal
*

Reputation: +64/-4
Offline Offline

Posts: 116


2nd Consul Gildavinor


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: November 18, 2020, 02:00:18 PM »

I decided to come back yesterday nd look around.

Something more I can add:
1) When trying to transfer marines from power armor marine assault units the game doesn't inform me i need to transfer to another power armor marine assault unit. Insted it just says 0 MAU's on the ship, even though it definitely has a MAU. It seems to require another power armor unit, but didn't tell me.

And I can't believe the game still hasn't given us a way to purchase minerals/gases for manufacturing in one go. For example, if I need 50 MK for Standard Cargo Bay, I can purchase either directly from manufacturing or from a redesigned store interface assurance décès. right now, the store just allows us to purchase individual minerals/gases. A redesigned exchange would allow us to purchase for a module, like Advanced Cargo Bay. Since the interface might look somewhat like Manufacturing, why not just do it there?

Minerals/gases are pretty much only used for manfuacturing (except diamonds for fuel conversion), so why wasn't this done in the first place.
Maybe in the next update it will be possible. In any case, our fingers are crossed.

There won't be a "Next update" ... This game has been abandoned by the developer.
Report to moderator   Logged

Senator
Pages: [1]
  Send this topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!